My work

Lampworking since 2016

 

MY PASSION FOR ART !

It was my grandmother who introduced me the Arts. Prima ballerina in the 30s and then owner of a gallery in Paris, she had at home, tons of invitations for galleries "vernissages". Imaginary journeys in the world of art! Sculpture tools stored in her drawers, sheets of Canson paper hidden under a bench, it was always a special treat when she organised creative sessions. She intoduced me to the pleasure of sculpture, painting, graphic arts, dance, during Wednesday afternoons and school holidays. Immersing myself in the gift of art became part of my existence and putting hands in the material quickly became essential.

After studying in a Parisian graphic arts school, I became a freelance Art Director and ergonomist. Even though the digital aspect of creation is fascinating, I missed the touchy feel, hands on part of it.

For many years I was passionate about the art of glass. I enrolled myself into an introductory course in the creation of blow-torched glass beads . It was love at first sight for this technique!
Glass can be challenging yet magic and sets the bar fairly high. Sitting in front of the flame is always a moment of enchantment and especially calm. The glass guides you into its motion, follow your instinct and the magic happens!

We start from a glass rod, very simple, we plunge it into the flame and the glass melts to the texture of honey. It is then rotated on a mandrel (stainless steel rod) to create the bead or sculpture: techniques of posing points, implosions, transparencies, bubbles, colorful graphics ... there are no limits!

All my beads are handmade, baked at 500 °C, and cleaned thoroughly. I want to stay in pure creation, no big production on the horizon. I imagine the beads on the torch and then selectively position them. Each of my creations are one of a kind.

Facebook : lesperlesdecaroline
Instagram : lesperlesdecaroline
Photos : ©Sophie Libermann & Caroline Huet

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

L’atelier

Créations sur le chalumeau depuis 2016.

 

LA PASSION DES ARTS !

C’est ma grand-mère qui m’initia aux arts et à la création. Danseuse étoile dans les années 30 puis galeriste, elle avait toujours, chez elle, des kilos de cartons d’invitations à des vernissages dans toutes les galeries parisiennes. Un voyage imaginaire dans le monde de l’art !  Des outils de sculptures rangés dans ses tiroirs, des feuilles de papier Canson format raisin cachées sous une banquette, c’était toujours un plaisir quand elle sortait de quoi faire une scéance créative. Elle me fit découvrir le plaisir de la sculpture, de la peinture, des arts graphiques, de la danse, pendant les après-midis du mercredi et les vacances scolaires. Mettre les mains dans la matières est vite devenu indispensable à l’équilibre.

Après avoir étudié dans une école d’arts graphiques, je suis devenue Directrice Artistique freelance et ergonome. Le travail de création numérique est passionnant mais il me manquait le plaisir de travailler la matière, l’amadouer, la transformer.

Fascinée par le verre depuis de nombreuses années, je me suis offert un stage d’initiation à la création de perles de verre sur chalumeau. Ce fut le coup de foudre immédiat pour cette technique !
Le verre est une matière magique qui place le challenge toujours plus haut. S’assoir devant la flamme est toujours un moment d’enchantement et surtout de calme. Il faut laisser le verre vous emmener dans son mouvement, suivre son instinct et la magie opère !

On part d’une baguette de verre, toute simple, on la plonge dans la flamme du chalumeau et le verre se met à fondre jusqu’à avoir une texture de miel. On le fait alors tourner sur un mandrin (tige en inox) pour fabriquer la perle ou la sculpture : techniques de pose de points, implosions, jeux de transparences, bulles, graphismes colorés… No Limit !

Toutes mes perles sont fabriquées à la main, cuites au four à 500°, puis nettoyées soigneusement. Je souhaite rester dans la création pure, pas de grosse production à l’horizon. J’imagine les perles sur le chalumeau pour ensuite leur trouver la meilleure place. Toutes mes créations sont donc uniques.

Facebook : lesperlesdecaroline
Instagram : lesperlesdecaroline
Photos : ©Sophie Libermann et Caroline Huet

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais